Scholars (2)

Current MHMS seniors qualifying as AP Scholars (front row from left): Johann Liwag, Rebecca Guillen, Maddie Ausderau, Travis Rettke; (back row from left) Ben Perry, Ivy Adams, Luke Martin, Balazs Varga, Jack Condra and Sriman Narain. AP Scholars not pictured have graduated and are attending their prospective colleges.

The College Board recently released the list of Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars and 45 students at Merrol Hyde Magnet School (MHMS) were awarded the designation. Of the 152 AP Scholars county-wide, MHMS accounted for 29.6 percent of that number.

The 45 AP Scholars are last year’s juniors and seniors and all received the scholar classification for outstanding performance on AP exams. Fifteen students obtained the level of AP Scholar, 15 students are AP Scholars with Distinction, and 15 students are AP Scholars with Honor.

Additionally, one of those students, Vincent Lee obtained the honor of National AP Scholar; an award only given to students who average at minimum score of four out of five in all the AP exams they take and score four out of five or more in at least eight of these exams.

Here are the AP award levels explained:

*AP Scholar – Awarded to students who score 3 or more on at least three AP exams.


*AP Scholar with Honor – Awarded to students who have averaged a minimum of 3.25 on the AP  exams they take and score 3 or more on at least four of those exams.


*AP Scholar with Distinction – Awarded to students who average a minimum of 3.5 on all their AP exams and score 3 or more on at least five of these exams.


*State AP Scholar – Awarded to one male and female student in each state. The student must have a score of 3 or more on the highest number of AP exams, as well as the highest average score on all the exams they take.


*National AP Scholar – Awarded to students who average at least a score of 4 in

all the AP exams they take and score 4 or more in at least eight of these exams.

The students will be recognized at the Sept. 17 Sumner County Board of Education meeting at 6 p.m. at the Sumner County Department of Education building at 695 East Main St. in Gallatin.

The number of MHMS students who took AP tests this past year was 117 and of those students, 38.4 percent are AP Scholars. Additionally, these 117 students accomplished a 93.7 percent passage rate, compared to the international rate of 57 percent. Almost 66 percent of the eligible MHMS students (grades 10-12) took an AP exam.

Merrol Hyde Magnet School is a K-12 academic school and is designated as a National Blue Ribbon School. It is accredited by the Tennessee Department of Education and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. MHMS utilizes the Paideia philosophy, and believes in educating the whole child - body, mind, and spirit.

List of MHMS AP Scholars:


AP Scholar - Jack Condra, Rebecca Guillen, Johann Liwag, Luke Martin, Sriman Narain, Balazs Varga, Lynden Abernathy, Spencer Davidson, Ellen Getter, Tyler Grant, Joe Kato, Davis Kendrick, Campbell Koons, Caroline Riley, Grace Riley.

AP Scholar with Distinction - Trey Boswell, Graham Broome, Mary Katherine Brown, Abigail Geerholt,

Gracie Gumm, Kirsten Homer, Jordan Huff, Rachel Koch, Vincent Lee, Kaelyn Meier, Alex Ponce, Macy Smith, Almond Sugumalwang, David Withrow.

AP Scholar with Honor - Ivy Adams, Maddie Ausderau, Ben Perry, Travis Rettke, Logan Collins, Dominique Dy, Claire Flatt, Kendall Frisbee, Sean Fritts, Elijah Harman, Zane Johnson, Jack Jones, Wootae Jung, Abbey Miller, Haley Lewis.

National AP Scholar - Vincent Lee.

Recommended for you