26 vying for commission seats

Out of 12 county commission districts in the Aug. 2 County General election, only seven will be contested races.

In Westmoreland’s District 1, Christopher Shoemaker and Terry Wright, who won the Republican Party’s nominations in May, will face off against four independent candidates including incumbent Moe Taylor, Jeremy Hand, James Brian Smalling and John Williams.

In Portland, District 2 Republican incumbents Larry Hinton and Billy Geminden will face off with Democrat candidate Michele Harbin.

District 3 Republican incumbent Alan Driver will face off with four independent candidates - incumbent Steve Graves, former county commissioner David Satterfield, Elizabeth Rickman-Vaden, and Don Scruggs.

District 4 Republican nominees and incumbents Leslie Schell and Jerry Foster of Gallatin are vying to keep their seats another term as they face off with newcomer Marquette Gilchrest - an independent candidate.

In Gallatin’s District 6 Republican nominees Deanne DeWitt and Luke Tinsley are running on the ballot against Democratic nominee Leonard Assante. It is the first run for a county commission seat for all three candidates.

In Hendersonville’s District 9, incumbent commissioners and Republican nominees Jerry Becker and Chris Taylor will face off against Democratic nominee Jordan Banks.

In District 12 - which covers a portion of White House, Portland and Hendersonville, incumbent Michael Guthrie and newcomer Justin Nipper will run on the ballot as the Republican nominees against independent newcomer Sean Riley Keene.

Early voting begins Friday, July 13 at the county administration building in Gallatin. For additional satellite locations and dates, visit votesumnertn.org.

Recommended for you